How Much Stock do You put into Grades?

It’s that time of year again. School is right around the corner. Most of us are scrabbling to pick up the last few items on our little ones’ goodies for school. The question that’s most oftened asked is, how can my child be better organized to get awesome grades this school year? I think being organized helps with life period and grades will improve from it; nonetheless, the older I get, the less stock in place on grades as a whole. I know it’s true that one needs a certain GPA to obtain certain priveleges; nonetheless, I think the most important thing is a child work ethic… If your child isn’t being challenged and is able to coast by with all “A”s; that may hinder them in the longrun. The true test is how she/he will overcome a challenging course. Trust me, I love to see all “A”s on my child report card; nonetheless, the most important thing to me is the effort they put behind it.

After school ends, real life sets in. No longer will your grades be able to tell you how much you will earn or eat for that matter. It will come down to your ability to work with people and overcome adversity. There are plenty “C” students who are CEOs and plenty “A” students working for them. As I stated before, I love good grades; nevertheless, I love effort more. To have both is the best of both worlds. If I had to choose one over the other, it would definetly be effort…

How much stock do you put into grades? Do you prefer grades over effort?

I would love to hear your answer!!!!

About balancej

I'm a humbled man on the mission to achieve as much of life's wisdom that I possibly can. I'm fascinated by the way we live our lives and the areas we place the most emphasis on as humans. I believe that in order to achieve life's greatest gifts, we have to balance our lives. This balance consists of spirituality, mental and physical health, relationships, career, and money in this order. Anytime these areas of life are out of place, we can expect more stress than we need. I hope you enjoy visiting my site as I share the current and future knowledge of attaining the wonderful balance of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How Much Stock do You put into Grades?

  1. 31 says:

    I agree with you about effort and work ethic being important. I ask that Cs not come home. Another point to make is that some students get so caught up in the grade that they miss the learning. This is why I’m in favor of standardized testing. We can’t escape them. Most professions require board exams. Going back to grades I let go of the idea of requiring my kids to have straight As when I was going through a divorce. My children were trying to process the break up. I had to thank God many days that they didn’t cry through a test or decide not to attend class at all (they were in junior high). Just like adults they had to prioritize things in their lives. Some weeks we had to talk about what courses were more important and how to focus on those and push through this exam and “take the hit on that quiz and focus on the exam”. Now that’s real life. I have to do this now.

    • balancej says:

      Yes life will happen. The older I get, the more stock I place into work ethic. We have been bread to believe grades is all we need to be successful. That’s totally untrue. Don’t get me wrong, I want my kids to have both, but I had to choose one over the other, it would be work ethic hands down. Good stuff!

  2. Monique Chambers says:

    In reality and the way the world runs today, grades are the initial gateway into the working world. It’s one of the first impressions that the company gets of you and they hope to use this attribute of yours, to help their company to become more prosperous. I place an abundant amount of stock on the grades a child gets so that they are not left out or held back so that they can thereafter show their true value and effort.

    Now with that said, here’s the ticker. I do prefer effort over grades. Economics, social and financial issues can prevent a child from getting good grades but they did give it their all. They went above and beyond but could not avail above the forces of their circumstances.

    • balancej says:

      Grades may get you an initial interview; nonetheless, work ethic will determine your success. I’m not saying that you can’t have both, because you truly can; however, we need to realize that every child gift is unique. Our school system, only measure a few gifts and for those with other gifts are on the outside. Grades doesn’t equal your financial destination; it your work ethic. It will those with the ability to persist when others are telling them they can’t. Just my 2 cent. Good stuff

  3. Suzette Dodd says:

    I agree somewhat but not totally. A’s are the results of effort. I require my son to bring home A’s because it doesn’t take much effort to get a C but it does to get and maintain A’s. Obviously if the child does not have the ability to bring home more than a C, no matter the effort, then that needs to be taken into consideration. However, if you have a child who has the ability, then clearly it should be a requirement otherwise you have lowered your expectation and could potentially set the child up fo be mediocre or fail.

    Suzette

    • balancej says:

      The funny thing is, every child learn different. Grades are an evaluation to some point, but grades can’t show truth effort all the time. I know our society place a tremendous amount of stock in grades. Of course I want my kids to get them; however I will no longer stress them out about them. Life is about the journey and not about the destination. Both of my kids are in gifted and they are honor roll students; nonetheless, if the grade was too easy to obtain, they need to be challenged. At the end of the day, grades may get you an interview; but it will be the work ethic that will determine your success. Just think, Warren Buffette wasn’t an “A” student.

Leave a Reply

