Career (What’s holding you back?)

 

Are you working your dream job? If not, what are you waiting for? Life is too short to have much compunction. If you are not sure what your dream career is, here are some questions to ask yourself provided by Dan Miller:

  1. What was I born to do?
  2. What would be my greatest contribution to others?
  3. What do I really love to do (and when I’m doing it, time just flies by)?
  4. What are the recurring themes that I find myself drawn to?
  5. How do I want to be remembered?

Now that you have answered these questions, start working toward it. I understand it’s hard and probably not practical for most people to leave their job right now; however, if you don’t start working toward you dream career or vocation now, then when? You don’t have to quit what you doing for a living right away and go on a limb to survive; however you do have to start working your way toward your dream.

There are many people working jobs they hate just to make ends meet. I sympathize with these people to a certain extent; however, they must do something about this. I’ve heard stories of people crying every morning on their way to work just because they hated their jobs so much. According to the National Center for Disease Control and Prevention “more people die at 9 o’clock Monday morning than any other time of day or any other day of the week”. This is a shame… I ask myself, what’s keeping us there. Are we going to let this issue kill us? I’m sure there are many reasons why we stay, however it doesn’t excuse the fact that we have the ability to do something about it. Here’s a passage from Dan Miller book title “48 days To the Work You Love” written by James Michener:

            What is Work?

The master in the art of living makes little distinction between his work and his play, his labor and his leisure, his mind and his body, his information and his recreation, his love and his religion. He hardly knows which is which. Hi simply pursues his vision of excellence at whatever he does, leaving others to decide whether he is working or playing. To him he is always doing both.

To attain the work James Michener so eloquently described, here are a few tips to get you started:

  • Read books in your dream career area
  • Attend seminars related to your dream career
  • Find someone who’s doing what you want to do and ask plenty of questions
  • Keep a positive attitude
  • Start taking classes in this area
  • Maintain a healthy lifestyle ( this makes you feel good about yourself which automatically increases your self-esteem)
  • Pray

I’m reminded that education is the bridge between a dream and reality. Dream “BIG” and put it to action!!! I hope you find this helpful!

About balancej

I'm a humbled man on the mission to achieve as much of life's wisdom that I possibly can. I'm fascinated by the way we live our lives and the areas we place the most emphasis on as humans. I believe that in order to achieve life's greatest gifts, we have to balance our lives. This balance consists of spirituality, mental and physical health, relationships, career, and money in this order. Anytime these areas of life are out of place, we can expect more stress than we need. I hope you enjoy visiting my site as I share the current and future knowledge of attaining the wonderful balance of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Career (What’s holding you back?)

  1. Stephen says:

    Lovely post J, thanks for sharing. The hardest step is the first step. Also coming up with a plan on how to get there is important. I also think simplify our lifestyle and cutting back on stuff you don’t need will allow you the opportunity to peruse what makes you happy.

  2. balancej says:

    Absolutely! I believe life is pretty simple; however we tend to make it complex. As you’ve mentioned, simplify our lifestyles, the other things will take care of themselves. Try to avoid regrets; 20 years from now, that’s when it hurts the most!

Leave a comment